Gold & Green Road

Open Access makes scientific information freely available on the internet on refereed publications that are stored reliably and permanently. Publishing in line with the rules of Open Access guarantees authors the rights to their intellectual property, shortens the path to publication, and reduces production and distribution costs. Greater visibility results in free access worldwide and thus to increased citation frequency. Open Access also helps maximize the propagation of scientific information.

Open Access does not mean self-publishing or circumventing the peer review process and publication. It is an alternative to traditional publishing on a licensed (closed-access) basis.

Gold Road

Gold Road means that the original publication is published in Open Access – in an Open-Access journal, or as an individual Open-Access article in a closed-access journal. These publications are freely accessible direct from the publisher's platform.

Some publishers charge authors a fee for the work involved in publishing their article. We provide you with financial support via various memberships and a publication fund.

Green Road

p>Green Road refers to the practice of republishing a publication in an Open-Access institutional or disciplinary repository after it first appeared in a traditional closed-access journal. At UZH, the Zurich Open Repository and Archive (ZORA) is available for republishing.

Hybrid Open Access

Many traditional publishers now offer the option of publishing individual Open-Access articles in a closed-access journal. While the journal as a whole is still closed-access, at the article level individual articles are published online under a free license. Publishers often charge very high open-access fees for such articles.
This model is controversial, as in most cases it means a university and its libraries pay double: once in the form of license fees for access, and once for individual open-access articles.

Goldener & Grüner Weg

Open Access schafft freien Zugang zu wissenschaftlicher Information im Internet auf qualifizierten Publikationen, die verlässlich und dauerhaft gespeichert sind. Publizieren nach den Regeln des Open Access garantiert den Urhebern die Rechte an ihrem geistigen Eigentum, kürzere Publikationswege, niedrigere Produktions- und Distributionskosten. Die höhere Sichtbarkeit führt durch den weltweiten freien Zugang zu einer grösseren Zitierhäufigkeit. Zudem fördert Open Access die Maximierung der Verbreitung wissenschaftlicher Information.

Open Access bedeutet weder Veröffentlichung im Eigenverlag noch einen Weg zur Umgehung des Peer-Review-Prozesses und der Veröffentlichung. Open Access ist ein alternatives Publikationsmodell zum traditionellen Lizenzmodell.

Goldener Weg

Der goldene Weg bedeutet, dass bereits die Originalpublikation mit Open Access veröffentlicht wurde – in einer Open Access –Zeitschrift oder als einzelner Open Access-Artikel in einer lizenzpflichtigen Zeitschrift. Diese Publikationen sind direkt ab der Verlagsplattform frei zugänglich.

Einige der Verlage verlangen für die geleistete Verlagsarbeit Artikelgebühren von den Autoren. Wir unterstützen Sie finanziell mit verschiedenen Mitgliedschaften und mit einem Publikationsfonds.

Grüner Weg

Der grüne Weg bedeutet die Zweitveröffentlichung einer Publikation in einem institutionellen oder fachlichen Repositorium. Die Erstpublikation erfolgt in diesem Fall in einer traditionellen, lizenzpflichtigen Zeitschrift. An der UZH steht Ihnen für die Zweitpublikation das Zurich Open Repository and Archive (ZORA) zur Verfügung.

Hybrid Open Access

Viele traditionelle Verlage bieten heute die Möglichkeit, innerhalb einer lizenzpflichtigen Zeitschrift einzelne Artikel mit Open Access zu veröffentlichen. Die gesamte Zeitschrift ist zwar noch lizenzpflichtig, aber auf Artikelebene werden einzelne Beiträge online unter einer freien Lizenz publiziert. Oftmals verlangen die Verlage sehr hohe Open Access-Gebühren für solche Artikel.
Dieses Modell ist umstritten, da es sich in den meisten Fällen um eine doppelte Bezahlung durch die Universitäten resp. ihre Bibliotheken handelt: einerseits durch die Lizenzgebühren für den Zugang, andererseits für den einzelnen Open Access-Artikel.