24. What is a copyright work?

Works are creations of the intellect independent of their embodiment in a copy of a work (Art. 2 Para. 1, Copyright Act). Thus it is not an article in a specific graphic form that is protected, but rather only the article “of itself”. Academic publications are as a rule protected by copyright unless they are a mere compilation of data (Art. 2 Para. 2 a and d of the Copyright Act). In practice, however, the publishing contract can define different exploitation rights, such as for the accepted manuscript (author’s version) or the publisher’s pdf (publisher’s version). These are contractual agreements that are permissible as a matter of principle, and as general they take priority over the statutory provisions (Art. 380 et seq., Code of Obligations, Art. 16, Copyright Act).

25. Who is the originator of a work?

The creation principle applies; copyright arises in the person of the originator of the work (Art. 6, Copyright Act). Only physical persons can be the originator; however, legal persons can be granted the copyright by the originator. A plurality of persons can be entitled to the copyright if they have all made a creative contribution to the work. Evaluators, reviewers, the person responsible for the layout and assistants who merely carry out auxiliary and basic work are not co- originators. In practice, all the authors of an academic work are its originators (Art. 8 Para. 1, Copyright Act).

26. Is it always permissible to set a hyperlink to other websites?

A link can always be set to a website whose contents are lawful. A hyperlink to a website whose contents are in breach of copyright can constitute a contribution to the breach of the rights. Authors’ personal websites sometimes contain a full text without authorisation, and so a repository should not contain a link to it.

Allgemeines

24. Was ist ein urheberrechtlich geschütztes Werk?

Werke sind geistige Schöpfungen unabhängig von ihrer Verkörperung in einem Werkexemplar (Art. 2 Abs. 1 URG). Es ist z.B. nicht ein Artikel in einer bestimmten graphischen Gestaltung geschützt, sondern nur der Artikel „an sich“. Wissenschaftliche Publikationen geniessen in der Regel Urheberrechtsschutz, solange es sich nicht um die blosse Zusammenstellung von Daten handelt (Art. 2 Abs. 2 lit. a und d URG). In der Praxis können aber in einem Verlagsvertrag verschiedene Verwertungsrechte beispielsweise für das akzeptierte Manuskript (Autorenversion) oder das Verlags-PDF (Verlagsversion) definiert werden. Dies sind vertragsrechtliche Vereinbarungen, die grundsätzlich zulässig sind, und sie gehen der gesetzlichen Regelung in aller Regel vor (Art. 380 ff. OR; Art. 16 URG).

 

25. Wer ist Urheber eines Werks?

Es gilt das Schöpferprinzip, das Urheberrecht entsteht in der Person des geistig Schöpfenden (Art. 6 URG). Nur physische Personen können Urheber sein; juristische Personen können sich aber die Urheberrechte vom Urheber einräumen lassen. Die Urheberschaft an einem Werk kann mehreren Personen zustehen, die alle einen schöpferischen Beitrag an das Werk geleistet haben. Gutachter, Reviewer, Ersteller des Layouts und Assistenten, die bloss Hilfs- und Grundlagenarbeit verrichten, sind keine Miturheber. In der Praxis sind alle Autoren einer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit Urheber (Art. 8 Abs. 1 URG).  

26. Darf man immer einen Hyperlink auf andere Internet-Seiten setzen?

Auf Internet-Seiten mit rechtskonformen Inhalten kann immer verlinkt werden. Ein Hyperlink auf eine Internet-Seite mit urheberrechtsverletzendem Inhalt kann einen Beitrag zu einer Rechtsverletzung darstellen. Persönliche Webseiten der Autoren enthalten manchmal unerlaubterweise Volltexte, also sollte ein Repositorium nicht dorthin verlinken.