International Constellations

18. What legal system applies to international constellations, such as with a foreign publisher or a subject-based repository abroad?

The author and the publisher can conclude an agreement on legal venue and applicable law within the limits set by the Swiss Federal Act on International Private Law (AIPL) and the Lugano Convention.

In the absence of such an agreement, it must first be determined whether there is a Swiss legal venue, which is the case for instance if an action is filed against an author whose place of residence is in Switzerland. The Swiss court then determines the applicable law according to the Swiss AIPL. A distinction is made between matters of contract law (which concern a publishing contract) and specifically copyright law questions (which concern copyright). Publishing contract law aspects are as a matter of principle subject to the law of the country in which the publisher has its place of business (Art. 117 Para. 2, AIPL). Copyright issues are subject to the country-of-protection principle, according to which the law of the country for which protection is requested applies (Art. 110 Para. 1, AIPL). If for instance an action is brought for the removal of a specific publication from a repository in Switzerland, Swiss law applies, while a German repository would be subject to German law.

19. A foreign publisher demands that an author with place of residence in Switzerland remove his works from a repository; which law applies here?

The legal venue and the applicable law can be agreed by contract, which is often the case in publishing contracts..

In the absence of such an agreement, the following applies in the case described above:

  • The legal venue is Switzerland (Art. 2 Para. 1, Lugano Convention; AIPL).
  • Actions based on the publishing contract are subject to the law of the country in which the publisher has its place of business (Art. 117 Para. 2, AIPL).
  • Actions based on copyright as such are subject to the country-of-protection principle (Art. 110 Para. 1, AIPL). Accordingly, if the removal of a specific publication from a repository in Switzerland is requested, Swiss law applies, while a German repository would be subject to German law.

20. A foreign publisher demands that a repository operator in Switzerland remove works from the repository; what law applies here?

The legal venue is in Switzerland (Art. 2 Para. 1, Lugano Convention; AIPL). As a rule, there is no contract between the repository operator and the publisher, with the result that the action will be based entirely on copyright issues. Accordingly the country-of-protection principle applies (Art. 110 Para. 1, AIPL) and hence Swiss law as a matter of principle. In such a case, for instance, internal use and the making of archive copies are permitted according to Swiss law (Art. 19 Para.1 c and Para. 3, Copyright Act; Art. 24 Para. 1bis, Copyright Act)..

Internationale Verhältnisse

18. Welche Rechtsordnung gilt bei internationalen Verhältnissen, beispielsweise bei einem ausländischen Verlag oder einem fachspezifischen ausländischen Repositorium?

Innerhalb der Grenzen des IPRG (Bundesgesetz über das internationale Privatrecht) und des Lugano-Übereinkommens können Autoren und Verlag eine Vereinbarung über Gerichtsstand und anwendbares Recht treffen. 

Ohne solche Vereinbarung ist zuerst abzuklären, ob ein schweizerischer Gerichtsstand gegeben ist, was z.B. dann der Fall ist, wenn der Autor, gegen den sich eine Klage richtet, seinen Wohnsitz in der Schweiz hat. Das Gericht in der Schweiz bestimmt dann das anwendbare Recht nach Massgabe des schweizerischen IPRG. Dabei ist zwischen vertragsrechtlichen Fragen (die einen Verlagsvertrag betreffen) und spezifisch urheberrechtlichen Fragen (die das Urheberrecht angehen) zu unterscheiden. Auf verlagsvertragsrechtliche Aspekte kommt grundsätzlich die Rechtsordnung desjenigen Staates zur Anwendung, in dem die Geschäftsniederlassung des Verlags liegt (Art. 117 Abs. 2 IPRG). Für urheberrechtliche Aspekte gilt das Schutzlandprinzip, wonach das Recht des Staates anwendbar ist, für den der Schutz beansprucht wird (Art. 110 Abs. 1 IPRG). Wird z.B. die Entfernung einer bestimmten Publikation von einem Repositorium in der Schweiz verlangt, gilt demnach schweizerisches Recht, bei einem Repositorium in Deutschland deutsches Recht.

19. Ein ausländischer Verlag verlangt, dass ein Autor mit Wohnsitz in der Schweiz seine Werke von einem Repositorium entfernt: welches Recht kommt in diesem Fall zur Anwendung?

Gerichtsstand und anwendbares Recht können vertraglich vereinbart werden, und dies ist in Verlagsverträgen häufig der Fall.

Ohne solche Vereinbarung gilt speziell im obigen Fall:

  • Gerichtsstand ist in der Schweiz (Art. 2 Abs. 1 Lugano-Übereinkommen; IPRG).
  • Bei Klagen in Bezug auf den Verlagsvertrag kommt das Recht desjenigen Staates zur Anwendung, in dem die Geschäftsniederlassung des Verlags liegt (Art. 117 Abs. 2 IPRG).
  • Bei Klagen in Bezug auf das Urheberrecht als solches gilt das Schutzlandprinzip (Art. 110 Abs. 1 IPRG). Wird die Entfernung einer bestimmten Publikation von einem Repositorium in der Schweiz verlangt, gilt demnach schweizerisches Recht, im Falle eines Repositoriums in Deutschland deutsches Recht.

20. Ein ausländischer Verlag verlangt, dass ein Repositoriumbetreiber in der Schweiz Werke vom Repositorium entfernt: welches Recht kommt in diesem Fall zur Anwendung?

Es ist ein Gerichtsstand in der Schweiz gegeben (Art. 2 Abs. 1 Lugano-Übereinkommen; IPRG). In der Regel gibt es keinen Vertrag zwischen Repositoriumbetreiber und Verlag, sodass eine Klage des Verlags rein urheberrechtliche Fragen betreffen dürfte. Daher gilt das Schutzlandprinzip (Art. 110 Abs. 1 IPRG) und somit grundsätzlich schweizerisches Recht. In diesem Fall sind somit beispielsweise der betriebsinterne Gebrauch und die Herstellung von Archivierungsexemplaren nach Massgabe des schweizerischen Rechts erlaubt (Art. 19 Abs. 1 lit. c und Abs. 3 URG; Art. 24 Abs. 1bis URG).