Self-Archiving

1. Am I allowed to publish my article on my institution’s document server, a subject-based document server or my homepage if the article has already been published in a journal?

f an agreement on copyright was concluded when the article was published in the academic journal, such as a written publishing contract, the provisions it contains will apply.

Otherwise, the provisions of publishing contract law contained in the Swiss Code of Obligations will apply. Art. 382 Para. 3 of the Code lays down that: “Contributions to collective volumes or larger contributions to journals may not be republished by the publishee before expiry of three months after the complete publication of the contribution.” Accordingly the author of an academic paper, such as an article in a journal, that deals with a topic in depth can publish it in a repository or other server three months after it has been published in full. The author’s version (accepted manuscript) can certainly be used for this purpose. According to the expert opinion by Reto Hilty and Matthias Seemann, the version published by the publisher can also be used (publisher’s pdf), but without the publisher’s logo, which is protected by trademark law or similar. However, there is no established judicial practice on this question of the format.

It should be noted that in international constellations, such as where the document server is located abroad, a foreign legal system may apply.

2. Am I allowed to publish contributions on my institution’s document server, a subject-based document server or my homepage if they have been published in a collective work (e.g. a Festschrift)?

If an agreement on copyright was concluded when the article was published in the collective work, such as a written publishing contract, the provisions it contains will apply.

Otherwise, the provisions of publishing contract law contained in the Swiss Code of Obligations will apply. Art. 382 Para. 3 of the Code lays down that: “Contributions to collective volumes or larger contributions to journals may not be republished by the publishee before expiry of three months after the complete publication of the contribution.” Accordingly the author of an academic paper, such as a contribution to a book, provided that it deals with a topic in depth, can publish it in a repository or other server three months after it has been published in full. The author’s version (accepted manuscript) can certainly be used for this purpose. According to the expert opinion by Reto Hilty and Matthias Seemann, the version published by the publisher can also be used (publisher’s pdf), but without the publisher’s logo, which is protected by trademark law or similar. However, there is no established judicial practice on this question of the format.

It should be noted that in international constellations, such as where the document server is located abroad, a foreign legal system may apply.

3. Am I allowed to publish contributions on my institution’s document server, a subject-based document server or my homepage if they have been published in a newspaper?

If an agreement on copyright was concluded when the article was published in the collective work, such as a written publishing contract, the provisions it contains will apply.

Otherwise, the provisions of publishing contract law contained in the Swiss Code of Obligations will apply. Art. 382 Para. 3 of the Code lays down that: “Contributions to collective volumes or larger contributions to journals may not be republished by the publishee before expiry of three months after the complete publication of the contribution.” Accordingly the author of an academic paper, such as a contribution to a book, provided that it deals with a topic in depth, can publish it in a repository or other server three months after it has been published in full. The author’s version (accepted manuscript) can certainly be used for this purpose. According to the expert opinion by Reto Hilty and Matthias Seemann, the version published by the publisher can also be used (publisher’s pdf), but without the publisher’s logo, which is protected by trademark law or similar. However, there is no established judicial practice on this question of the format.

It should be noted that in international constellations, such as where the document server is located abroad, a foreign legal system may apply.

4. What legal aspects should be taken into account for the open-access own-archiving of monographs already published?

If an agreement on copyright was concluded when the article was published in the collective work, such as a written publishing contract, the provisions it contains will apply.

Otherwise, the provisions of publishing contract law contained in the Swiss Code of Obligations will apply. Art. 382 Para. 3 of the Code lays down that: “Contributions to collective volumes or larger contributions to journals may not be republished by the publishee before expiry of three months after the complete publication of the contribution.” Accordingly the author of an academic paper, such as a contribution to a book, provided that it deals with a topic in depth, can publish it in a repository or other server three months after it has been published in full. The author’s version (accepted manuscript) can certainly be used for this purpose. According to the expert opinion by Reto Hilty and Matthias Seemann, the version published by the publisher can also be used (publisher’s pdf), but without the publisher’s logo, which is protected by trademark law or similar. However, there is no established judicial practice on this question of the format.

It should be noted that in international constellations, such as where the document server is located abroad, a foreign legal system may apply.

5. How can I publish my dissertation under open access?

Most Swiss universities allow the electronic publication of dissertations. It is usually the university libraries that are responsible for digital publication and they will give you the information you need. As the author of the dissertation, you are permitted to place it under an  open licence.

If, however, the dissertation contains parts that have already been or will be published elsewhere, the provisions of the corresponding publishing contract or, as the case may be, the non-mandatory statutory provisions must be complied with, and account taken of the information about submitting manuscripts to the journal or the publisher. It may therefore be appropriate to make only parts of the dissertation accessible on a repository and to refrain from disclosing other parts. The doctorate regulations of the university or faculty will also apply.

6. In the case of an article with a number of authors, is it sufficient if one of them consents to publication on a document server?

If a publishing contract has been concluded, it must first be determined whether such a deposit of the work on a repository is permitted. If it is, the consent of all the authors must be obtained for the publication on a document server in the same way as for the assignment of the rights to the institution in question. However, it is possible that the authors have appointed one of their numbers to speak for them all. In such a case, this person is entitled to assign the rights (Art. 7 Para. 2 of the Copyright Act).

7. Can works offered by the publisher on the Internet without restrictions be deposited publicly in a repository?

No. Permission to make these works accessible cannot be derived from such conduct on the part of the publisher (Art. 10 Para. 2 c, Copyright Act).

8. If a work belongs to the publisher in copyright terms, can the author deposit it publicly in a slightly modified form in a repository?

No. In particular the use of the work in a different layout, e.g. omitting the publisher’s logo and page numbers, also requires the publisher’s consent.

9. An article in a journal or a collective volume contains images the rights to which are held not by the publisher but instead by a collecting society such as Pro Litteris. What must the author do if he wishes to publish the article in a repository?

In addition to the aspects described in questions 1 and 2, it must be determined whether the collecting society has authorised the publisher to grant the rights to the images for further publications, and whether the publisher has granted these rights to the author. As a rule, this is not the case, and so the author must frequently obtain permission from the collecting society, which involves costs. For this reason, it may be appropriate to publish the text in a repository without images.

10. Is the author entitled to deposit his works in a repository in blocked form, making them accessible to outsiders by replying to each request for a copy and sending the work individually?

The “request a copy” function differs from the normal deposit in particular by the fact that the work is not automatically made available to the public.

If no contractual agreements have been concluded between the author and the publisher, such that the statutory provisions apply (Arts. 380 et seq., Code of Obligations, see Question 16), the distinction between “request a copy” and normal deposit is of no practical importance. In other words, the statutory provisions also apply to the “request a copy” function.

If a contractual agreement has been concluded between the author and the publisher, the provisions it contains will apply. If the author has granted the publisher the reproduction and distribution rights, or has granted an exclusive licence, he is as a matter of principle no longer entitled to send a copy via the “request a copy” function. However, the “request a copy” function – unlike normal deposit – is permitted and useful if the publishing contract only permits the distribution of the work to a limited circle of persons, which is the case in many publishing contracts. The “request a copy” function corresponds to distribution within such a limited circle.

Where the “request a copy” function is used, it is as a matter of principle more difficult to prove any breaches of copyright than with a normal deposit, in particular because an outsider cannot see whether any infringement of the rights has been committed by the author alone or also by the operator of the repository.

Selbstarchivierung von Publikationen

1. Darf ich meine bereits in einer Zeitschrift veröffentlichten Artikel auf dem Dokumentenserver meiner Einrichtung, auf einem fachlichen Dokumentenserver oder auf meiner Homepage veröffentlichen?

Falls bei der Veröffentlichung in der wissenschaftlichen Zeitschrift eine Vereinbarung zu den Urheberrechten getroffen wurde, beispielsweise in einem schriftlichen Verlagsvertrag, gelten die dort verwendeten Formulierungen.

Andernfalls kommen die Bestimmungen des Verlagsvertragsrechts des schweizerischen Obligationenrechts zur Anwendung. Dort lautet Art. 382 Abs. 3 OR: „Beiträge an Sammelwerke oder grössere Beiträge an Zeitschriften darf der Verlaggeber nicht vor Ablauf von drei Monaten nach dem vollständigen Erscheinen des Beitrages weiter veröffentlichen.“ Daher darf der Autor wissenschaftliche Aufsätze wie etwa Zeitschriftenartikel, soweit sie vertieft ein Thema behandeln, drei Monate nach dem vollständigen Erscheinen in einem Repositorium oder anderen Server veröffentlichen. Dabei ist sicher die Autorenversion (akzeptiertes Manuskript) zulässig. Nach Meinung des Rechtsgutachtens von Reto Hilty und Matthias Seemann kann auch die vom Verlag publizierte Version verwendet werden (Verlags-PDF), allerdings ohne kennzeichenrechtlich geschützte Verlagslogos. Es gibt zu dieser Frage des Formats aber keine gefestigte Gerichtspraxis.

Zu beachten ist, dass bei internationalen Verhältnissen, beispielsweise bei einem Dokumentenserver im Ausland, eventuell eine ausländische Rechtsordnung zur Anwendung gelangt (Abschnitt D).

2. Darf ich Beiträge, die ich in Sammelwerken (z.B. Festschriften) veröffentlicht habe, auf dem Dokumentenserver meiner Einrichtung, auf einem fachlichen Dokumentenserver oder auf meiner Homepage veröffentlichen?

Falls bei der Veröffentlichung im Sammelwerk eine Vereinbarung zu den Urheberrechten getroffen wurde, beispielsweise in einem schriftlichen Verlagsvertrag, gelten die dort verwendeten Formulierungen.

Andernfalls kommen die Bestimmungen des Verlagsvertragsrechts des schweizerischen Obligationenrechts zur Anwendung. Dort lautet Art. 382 Abs. 3 OR: „Beiträge an Sammelwerke oder grössere Beiträge an Zeitschriften darf der Verlaggeber nicht vor Ablauf von drei Monaten nach dem vollständigen Erscheinen des Beitrages weiter veröffentlichen.“ Daher darf der Autor wissenschaftliche Aufsätze wie etwa Buchbeiträge, soweit sie vertieft ein Thema behandeln, drei Monate nach dem vollständigen Erscheinen in einem Repositorium oder anderen Server veröffentlichen. Dabei ist sicher die Autorenversion (akzeptiertes Manuskript) zulässig. Nach Meinung des Rechtsgutachtens von Reto Hilty und Matthias Seemann kann auch die vom Verlag publizierte Version verwendet werden (Verlags-PDF), allerdings ohne kennzeichenrechtlich geschützte Verlagslogos. Es gibt zu dieser Frage des Formats aber keine gefestigte Gerichtspraxis.

Zu beachten ist, dass bei internationalen Verhältnissen, beispielsweise bei einem Dokumentenserver im Ausland, eventuell eine ausländische Rechtsordnung zur Anwendung gelangt (Abschnitt D).

3. Darf ich Aufsätze, die ich in einer Zeitung veröffentlicht habe, auf dem Dokumentenserver meiner Einrichtung, auf einem fachlichen Dokumentenserver oder auf meiner Homepage veröffentlichen?

Falls bei der Veröffentlichung in der Zeitung eine Vereinbarung zu den Urheberrechten getroffen wurde, beispielsweise in einem schriftlichen Verlagsvertrag, gelten die dort verwendeten Formulierungen.

Andernfalls kommen die Bestimmungen des Verlagsvertragsrechts des schweizerischen Obligationenrechts zur Anwendung. Dort lautet Art. 382 Abs. 2 OR: „Zeitungsartikel und einzelne kleinere Aufsätze in Zeitschriften darf der Verlaggeber jederzeit weiter veröffentlichen.“ Das bedeutet, dass aktualitätsbezogene Berichte, z.B. Zeitungsartikel, vom Autor jederzeit in einem Repositorium oder anderen Server veröffentlicht werden dürfen. Dabei ist sicher die Autorenversion (akzeptiertes Manuskript) zulässig. Nach Meinung des Rechtsgutachtens von Reto Hilty und Matthias Seemann kann auch die vom Verlag publizierte Version verwendet werden (Verlags-PDF), allerdings ohne kennzeichenrechtlich geschützte Verlagslogos. Es gibt zu dieser Frage des Formats aber keine gefestigte Gerichtspraxis.

Zu beachten ist, dass bei internationalen Verhältnissen, beispielsweise bei einem Dokumentenserver im Ausland, eventuell eine ausländische Rechtsordnung zur Anwendung gelangt (Abschnitt D).

4. Was ist rechtlich bei der Open-Access-Selbstarchivierung bereits veröffentlichter Monografien zu beachten?

Falls bei der Veröffentlichung eine Vereinbarung zu den Urheberrechten getroffen wurde, beispielsweise in einem schriftlichen Verlagsvertrag, gelten die dort verwendeten Formulierungen.

Andernfalls kommen die Bestimmungen des Verlagsvertragsrechts des schweizerischen Obligationenrechts zur Anwendung. Dort lautet Art. 382 Abs. 1 OR: „Solange die Auflagen des Werkes, zu denen der Verleger berechtigt ist, nicht vergriffen sind, darf der Verlaggeber weder über das Werk im Ganzen noch über dessen einzelne Teile zum Nachteile des Verlegers anderweitig verfügen.“ Daher darf der Autor Werke wie Monografien oder Lehrbücher nicht in Konkurrenz zum Verlag in einem Repositorium offen hinterlegen, solange die Auflage nicht vergriffen ist. Nicht korrekt zitierfähige Versionen, die keine echte Konkurrenz bedeuten, sind erlaubt, z.B. Files ohne Originalseitenzahlen in Fächern, in denen seitengenau zitiert wird.

Zu beachten ist, dass bei internationalen Verhältnissen, beispielsweise bei einem Dokumentenserver im Ausland, eventuell eine ausländische Rechtsordnung zur Anwendung gelangt (Abschnitt D).

5. Wie kann ich meine Dissertation mit Open Access veröffentlichen?

Die meisten schweizerischen Universitäten ermöglichen die elektronische Publikation von Dissertationen. Zuständig für die digitale Publikation sind in der Regel die Hochschulbibliotheken, dort erhalten Sie die notwendigen Informationen. Als Autor haben Sie das Recht, ihre Dissertation unter eine freie Lizenz zu stellen.

Enthält die Dissertation jedoch Teile, welche schon anderweitig publiziert wurden oder noch werden, so sind die Vorschriften der entsprechenden Verlagsverträge resp. die dispositiven gesetzlichen Bestimmungen einzuhalten und die Hinweise über das Einreichen von Manuskripten beim jeweiligen Journal oder Verlag zu beachten. Es kann daher angebracht sein, etwa nur einzelne Teile der Dissertation auf einem Repositorium zugänglich zu machen und andere Teile verschlossen zu halten. Im Übrigen gelten die Promotionsordnungen der jeweiligen Hochschule beziehungsweise Fakultät.

6. Reicht es bei einem Artikel mit mehreren Autor/innen aus, wenn ein/e von ihnen der Veröffentlichung auf einem Dokumentenserver zustimmt?

Wurde ein Verlagsvertrag abgeschlossen, so ist zuerst abzuklären, ob eine solche Hinterlegung des Werks auf einem Repositorium zulässig ist. Ist dies der Fall, so müssen für die Veröffentlichung auf einem Dokumentenserver, wie für die Rechteübertragung an die jeweilige Institution, alle Urheber zustimmen. Möglicherweise haben jedoch die Autoren einen unter ihnen beauftragt, der für alle zusammen sprechen kann. Dann ist diese Person berechtigt, Rechte zu übertragen (Art. 7 Abs. 2 URG).

7. Darf man Werke, die vom Verlag frei zugänglich im Internet angeboten werden, offen in einem Repositorium hinterlegen?

Nein. Eine Erlaubnis zur Zugänglichmachung dieser Werke kann aus einem solchen Verhalten des Verlags nicht abgeleitet werden (Art. 10 Abs. 2 lit. c URG).

8. Darf der Autor seine Werke, wenn sie urheberrechtlich dem Verlag gehören, in einer leicht veränderten Form auf einem Repositorium offen hinterlegen?

Nein. Insbesondere darf auch die Nutzung des Werks in einem anderen Layout, z.B. unter Weglassen der Verlagslogos und Verlagsseitenzahlen, nicht ohne Zustimmung des Verlags erfolgen. 

9. Ein Artikel aus einer Zeitschrift oder Sammelband enthält Bilder, dessen Rechte nicht beim Verlag, sondern einer Verwertungsgesellschaft wie Pro Litteris liegen. Wie muss der Autor vorgehen, um den Artikel in einem Repositorium zu veröffentlichen?

Zusätzlich zu den in Fragen 1 und 2 beschriebenen Aspekten ist abzuklären, ob die Verwertungsgesellschaft den Verlag ermächtigt hat, die Rechte an den Bildern für weitere Veröffentlichungen zu gewähren, und ob der Verlag dem Autor diese Rechte einräumt. In der Regel ist dies nicht der Fall, sodass der Autor häufig eine Erlaubnis bei der Verwertungsgesellschaft einholen muss, was mit Kosten verbunden ist. Aus diesen Gründen kann es angebracht sein, auf dem Repositorium den Text ohne Bilder zu veröffentlichen.

10. Darf der Autor seine Werke in einem Repositorium geschlossen hinterlegen und sie von aussen abfragbar machen, indem er „request a copy“-Anfragen einzeln beantwortet und das Werk individuell verschickt?

Die „request a copy“-Funktion unterscheidet sich von der normalen Hinterlegung insbesondere dadurch, dass das Werk nicht ohne weiteres allgemein zugänglich gemacht wird.

Soweit zwischen Autor und Verlag keine vertraglichen Vereinbarungen bestehen und das Gesetzesrecht zur Anwendung kommt (Art. 380 ff. OR, Frage 16), spielt der Unterscheid zwischen „request a copy“-Funktion und normaler Hinterlegung keine praktisch relevante Rolle. Das heisst, die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen gelten auch für die „request a copy“-Funktion.

Im Falle eines Verlagsvertrags zwischen Autor und Verlag gelten die dort formulierten Vereinbarungen. Soweit der Autor dem Verlag das Vervielfältigungs- und das Verbreitungsrecht übertragen oder ihm eine ausschliessliche Lizenz daran eingeräumt hat, ist er grundsätzlich nicht mehr zum Versenden des Werks per „request a copy“-Funktion berechtigt. Die „request a copy“-Funktion ist jedoch – anders als die normale Hinterlegung – dann zulässig und nützlich, wenn der Verlagsvertrag die Verbreitung des Werks nur an einen beschränkten Personenkreis erlaubt, und dies wird in vielen Verlagsverträgen so formuliert. Denn die „request a copy“-Funktion entspricht der Verbreitung in einem solchen Personenkreis.

Bei der Anwendung der „request a copy“-Funktion sind allfällige Urheberrechtsverletzungen grundsätzlich schwieriger zu beweisen als bei einer normalen Hinterlegung, insbesondere weil für einen Aussenstehenden nicht transparent ist, ob die allfällige Urheberrechtsverletzung nur durch den Urheber oder auch durch den Betreiber des Repositoriums erfolgt.