Publishing Contracts

11. What is the form of a publishing contract?

The conclusion of a publishing contract is not tied to compliance with a particular form (Arts. 380 et seq., Code of Obligations). An exchange of emails or the mailing of the manuscript by the author to the publisher with a request for publication is in legal terms a publishing contract if the publisher publishes the work or at least undertakes to do so. Although the publishing contract requires the consent of both parties, it need neither be in writing nor expressly in any other form, but instead may follow from the conduct of the parties. In practice, legally valid contracts are often concluded even if no written contract is made.

12. What rights are granted in a publishing contract, and what rights are retained by the author?

The decisive factor is the wording of the publishing contract, and freedom of contract applies. Partial rights under copyright can be granted individually. Contractual provisions take priority over the non-mandatory statutory provisions. A distinction must be made between the following cases:

  • If copyright is assigned, the author abandons his rights to the benefit of the publisher. For example, if the contract states: “Copyright is granted without restriction in space, time or content.”.
  • If copyright is licensed, the author retains his copyright but grants user rights.
    • If an exclusive licence is granted, the author undertakes not to grant a licence to the work elsewhere.
    • If the author only grants the publisher a simple licence, he is entitled to grant further (simple) licences to other persons or organisations..

Limitations under copyright law apply even if the corresponding rights are transferred. One example is the limitation for internal use (Art. 19 Para. 1 c, Copyright Act); however, this is subject to various preconditions.

Unlike former German law, Swiss law does not forbid the grant of rights with respect to unknown types of use. If “all copyright” was granted before 1995, this also covered the now usual online rights.

Contractual provisions on the use of the accepted manuscript or the publisher’s pdf are valid, as are provisions that permit the author to publish the work on his personal website. However, a repository is not regarded as the author’s personal website.

If the author is entitled to publish his work elsewhere, and if there are no provisions concerning the format, the author’s version (accepted manuscript) can certainly be used. According to the expert opinion by Reto Hilty and Matthias Seemann, the version published by the publisher can also be used (publisher’s pdf), but without the publisher’s logo, which is protected by trademark law or similar. However, there is no established judicial practice on this question of the format.

13. What possibilities are available to me to enforce a right to open-access publication by contract?

If you publish your article in a journal that is sold at a price, but nevertheless would like to retain the right to archive it yourself on a document server, you should if possible only grant the publisher a simple licence (simple user right). You can reserve the right to deposit your publications on a document server,

  1. by crossing out restrictive wording such as “the exclusive grant of all rights” in the contract before signing it. You should point out these deletions in a letter to the publisher.
  2. iby supplementing the contract to be signed by adding addenda to the contract or text passages. The best-known addendum is the SPARC Author's Addendum. The Copyright Addendum Engine by Science Commons and SPARC can be used by authors to create automatically in the Internet an addendum in the versions Access Reuse, Delayed Access and Immediate Access, as desired.

Other addenda are available from the MIT Libraries.

A model clause that need not be integrated within the publishing contract document but which can instead also be signed separately as an addendum to the contract (if this is not explicitly excluded by the publishing contract) could read as follows:

Addendum to the contract

  • This addendum supplements the publishing contract between the parties and takes priority over any provisions to the contrary in the publishing contract.
  • After expiry of six months (in the case of entire books, after expiry of three years) after publication, the author shall be entitled to make this article accessible generally or empower third parties to do so using the internal networks of educational and research institutions, institutional repositories and his personal Internet site.
  • If the publisher assigns the rights to the author's work to a third party, the publisher shall ensure that the third party complies with the obligations resulting from the present supplement to the publishing contract.

Another strategy that is likewise already covered by the practice of a number of publishers nowadays is not to agree on a waiting period but instead to lay down that it is not the publisher’s pdf but rather merely an author’s version without publisher’s logo and without the publisher’s page numbers that the author is entitled to make generally accessible.

As a matter of principle, the publisher must consent to these amendments if they are to apply. The mere fact that the publisher has published the work is doubtless insufficient to construe the publisher’s consent to an addendum to the contract that the publisher has never expressly accepted. The author bears the burden of proof that the publisher has given its consent to the corresponding addendum to the contract (Art. 8, Civil Code).

14. When are the publisher’s standard terms of business (STB) binding on the author?

It is a principle of contract law that STB are only binding if they are based on an identical expression of intent by both parties (Art. 1 Para. 1, Code of Obligations). Accordingly both parties must consent; it is not sufficient if for instance the publisher places its STB on a website but fails to mention them to the author. Nor are the STB valid if they are pointed out to the author by the publisher but are in a small, almost illegible script or if the STB are only accessible on the publisher’s website but are difficult to find.

15. A publishing contract lays down that the author is entitled to publish his work on his personal website. Is the repository of the university where he works regarded as his personal website?

Publishing contracts and the publisher’s STB can allow the author to publish his work on his personal website. Such a provision lies within the framework of the freedom of contract and is lawful.

However, if the consent expressly only refers to publication on the author’s personal website, this cannot be interpreted to mean the repository of the university where he works. Such an interpretation would go too far. On the other hand, the author or the operator of the repository is at liberty to set a hyperlink to the author’s personal website and the work accessible there.

Verlagsverträge

11. Welche Form hat ein Verlagsvertrag?

Der Abschluss eines Verlagsvertrags ist nicht an die Einhaltung einer bestimmtem Form gebunden (Art. 380 ff. OR). Ein E-mail-Austausch oder die Zusendung des Manuskripts vom Urheber an den Verlag mit der Bitte um Veröffentlichung gelten rechtlich als Verlagsvertrag, wenn der Verlag die Publikation vornimmt oder sie zumindest verspricht. Der Verlagsvertrag braucht zwar das Einverständnis beider Parteien, dieses muss jedoch weder schriftlich noch auf andere Art ausdrücklich sein, sondern kann sich auch bloss aus dem Verhalten der Parteien ergeben. In der Praxis entstehen somit oft rechtlich gültige Verlagsverträge, auch wenn kein schriftlicher Vertrag abgeschlossen wurde.

12. Welche Rechte werden in einem Verlagsvertrag dem Verlag eingeräumt, resp. verbleiben bei den Autoren?

Die Formulierung im Verlagsvertrag ist entscheidend, und dabei herrscht Vertragsfreiheit. Teilrechte des Urheberrechts können einzeln vergeben werden. Vertragliche Regelungen gehen den dispositiven gesetzlichen Bestimmungen vor. Zu unterscheiden sind folgende Fälle:

  • Bei einer Übertragung von Urheberrechten gibt der Autor seine Rechte dem Verlag ab. Beispiel: in einer Vertragsformulierung wird „das Urheberrecht räumlich, zeitlich und inhaltlich unbeschränkt eingeräumt“.
  • Bei einer Lizenzierung behält der Autor seine Urheberrechte, gibt aber die Nutzungsrechte ab.
    • Mit der Einräumung einer ausschliesslichen Lizenz verpflichtet sich der Autor, keine anderweitigen Lizenzen am entsprechenden Werk zu erteilen.
    • Gewährt der Autor dem Verlag nur eine einfache Lizenz, so darf er anderen Personen oder Organisation weitere (einfache) Lizenzen einräumen.

Urhebergesetzliche Schrankenregelungen gelten, auch wenn die entsprechenden Rechte übertragen wurden. Ein Beispiel ist die Schrankenregelung zugunsten des betriebsinternen Gebrauchs (Art. 19 Abs. 1 lit. c URG); dieser ist aber an verschiedene Voraussetzungen geknüpft.

Ein Verbot der Rechtseinräumung bezüglich unbekannter Nutzungsarten kennt das schweizerische Recht, anders als etwa bisher das deutsche, nicht. Wurden vor 1995 „sämtliche Urheberrechte“ eingeräumt, so sind davon auch die heute gebräuchlichen Online-Rechte betroffen.

Vertragliche Regelungen zur Verwendung von akzeptiertem Manuskript oder Verlags-PDF sind gültig. Ebenso zulässig sind Regelungen, die dem Autor die Veröffentlichung auf seiner persönlichen Internet-Seite erlauben. Ein Repositorium gilt jedoch nicht als persönliche Internet-Seite des Autors.

Darf der Autor sein Werk anderweitig veröffentlichen und gibt es keine Regelung zum Format, so ist sicher die Autorenversion (akzeptiertes Manuskript) zulässig. Nach Meinung des Rechtsgutachtens von Reto Hilty und Matthias Seemann kann auch die vom Verlag publizierte Version verwendet werden (Verlags-PDF), allerdings ohne kennzeichenrechtlich geschützte Verlagslogos. Es gibt zu dieser Frage des Formats aber keine gefestigte Gerichtspraxis.

13. Welche Möglichkeiten habe ich, eine Open-Access-Veröffentlichung vertraglich durchzusetzen?

Wenn Sie ihre Artikel in kostenpflichtigen Zeitschriften veröffentlichen, sich aber trotzdem das Recht der Selbstarchivierung auf einem Dokumentenserver vorbehalten möchten, sollten Sie dem Verlag nach Möglichkeit nur eine einfache Lizenz gewähren (einfaches Nutzungsrecht). Das Recht auf eine Hinterlegung Ihrer Publikationen auf einem Dokumentenserver können Sie sich sichern,

  1. Indem Sie einschränkende Formulierungen wie „die exklusive Abgabe aller Rechte“ im Vertrag deutlich streichen, bevor Sie ihn unterzeichnen. In einem Anschreiben sollten Sie den Verlag auf diese Streichung hinweisen.
  2. indem Sie den zu unterschreibenden Vertrag durch Vertragszusätze oder Textpassagen ergänzen. Der bekannteste Vertragszusatz ist das SPARC Author's Addendum. Mittels der Copyright Addendum Engine von Science Commons und SPARC können Autorinnen und Autoren je nach Wunsch ein Addendum in den Varianten Access-Reuse, Delayed Access und Immediate Access automatisch im Internet erstellen.

Weitere Vertragszusätze bieten die MIT Libraries an.

Eine Musterklausel, die nicht in das Verlagsvertragsdokument integriert sein muss, sondern als Vertragszusatz auch separat unterzeichnet werden kann (falls der Verlagsvertrag solches nicht explizit ausschliesst), könnte folgendermassen lauten:

Zusatz zum Verlagsvertrag:

  • Dieser Zusatz ergänzt den Verlagsvertrag zwischen den Parteien und geht allfälligen abweichenden Bestimmungen des Verlagsvertrags vor.
  • Der Urheber darf seinen Artikel nach Ablauf von sechs Monaten (bei ganzen Büchern: nach Ablauf von drei Jahren) nach der Veröffentlichung über interne Netzwerke von Bildungs- und Forschungseinrichtungen, über institutionelle Repositorien sowie über seine persönliche Internet-Seite allgemein zugänglich machen oder Dritte dazu ermächtigen.
  • Falls der Verlag die Rechte am Werk des Urhebers einem Dritten überträgt, stellt der Verlag sicher, dass der Dritte die Verpflichtungen aus dem vorliegenden Zusatz zum Verlagsvertrag einhält.

Eine andere Strategie, die ebenfalls schon heute durch die Praxis einiger Verlage gedeckt ist, wäre es, keine Karenzfrist zu verankern, aber vorzusehen, dass der Urheber nicht das Verlags-PDF, sondern nur eine Autorenversion ohne Verlagslogo und Verlagsseitenzahlen (akzeptiertes Manuskript) allgemein zugänglich machen darf.

Grundsätzlich muss der Verlag mit diesen Änderungen einverstanden sein, damit sie Rechtsgültigkeit erlangen. Die blosse Tatsache, dass der Verlag das Werk 

14. Wann sind die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen (AGB) des Verlags für die Autoren bindend?

Ein vertragsrechtlicher Grundsatz ist, dass AGB nur dann verbindlich sind, wenn sie sich auf die übereinstimmende gegenseitige Willensäusserung der Parteien stützen können (Art.1 Abs. 1 OR). Beide Parteien müssen daher zustimmen; es genügt nicht, wenn z.B. der Verlag auf einer Internet-Seite AGB aufgeschaltet hat, aber diese gegenüber dem Autor nicht erwähnt. Auch nicht gültig ist, wenn beispielsweise der Verlag den Autor auf die AGB hinweist, diese aber in sehr kleiner, kaum lesbarer Schrift vorliegen, oder wenn die AGB nur auf der Internet-Seite des Verlags zugänglich, dort aber schwer zu finden sind. 

15. In einem Verlagsvertrag steht, der Autor dürfe sein Werk auf seiner persönlichen Internet-Seite veröffentlichen. Gilt das Repositorium der Universität, bei der er angestellt ist, als persönliche Webseite?

Verlagsverträge und AGB von Verlagen können dem Urheber erlauben, sein Werk auf seiner persönlichen Internet-Seite zu publizieren. Eine solche Regelung liegt im Rahmen der Vertragsfreiheit und ist ohne weiteres zulässig.

Bezieht sich die Erlaubnis aber explizit nur auf die Publikation auf der persönlichen Internet-Seite des Urhebers, so kann darunter nicht auch das Repositorium der Universität, bei der er angestellt ist, verstanden werden. Eine solche Auslegung ginge zu weit. Hingegen steht es dem Autor oder Betreiber des Repositoriums frei, auf die persönliche Internet-Seite des Urhebers und das dort zugängliche Werk einen Hyperlink zu setzen.