Locations & Opening Hours

Regular Opening Hours

  Main Library – Medicine Careum** Main Library – Science** Main Library – Study Center*
Monday 8am - 8pm 8am - 8pm 7am - 12pm
Tuesday 8am - 8pm 8am - 8pm 7am - 12pm
Wednesday 8am - 8pm 8am - 8pm 7am - 12pm
Thursday 8am - 8pm 8am - 8pm 7am - 12pm
Friday 8am - 8pm 8am - 8pm 7am - 12pm
Saturday 8am - 4pm closed 7am - 12pm
Sunday closed closed 7am - 12pm

* Access only with validated UZH or ETH card

** Limited service at the following times:

- Monday to Friday, between 6pm and 8pm
- Saturday, between 8am and 11am

No consultations, no new registrations, lending only for users holding a valid library card for the NEBIS network.

Special Opening hours in August/September

Opening hours on holidays and during closure of the Main Library – Science

  Main Library – Medicine Careum Main Library – Science
Wednesday, August 1 closed closed
Monday, August 20 8am-8pm closed
Tuesday, August 21 8am-8pm closed
Wednesday, August 22 8am-8pm closed
Thursday, August 23 8am-8pm closed
Friday, August 24 8am-8pm closed
Saturday, August 25 8am-4pm closed
Sunday, August 26 closed closed
Monday, August 27 8am-8pm closed
Tuesday, August 28 8am-8pm closed
Wednesday, August 29 8am-8pm closed
Thursday, August 30 8am-8pm closed
Friday, August 31 8am-8pm closed
Saturday, September 1 8am-4pm closed
Sunday, September 2 closed closed
Monday, September 3 8am-8pm closed
Tuesday, September 4 8am-8pm closed
Wednesday, September 5 8am-8pm closed
Thursday, September 6 8am-8pm closed
Friday, September 7 8am-8pm closed
Saturday, September 8 8am-4pm closed
Sunday, September 9 closed closed
Monday, September 10 closed closed
Tuesday, September 11 8am-8pm closed
Wednesday, September 12 8am-8pm closed
Thursday, September 13 8am-8pm closed
Friday, September 14 8am-8pm closed
Saturday, September 15 8am-4pm closed
Sunday, September 16 closed closed

The working area MediZone, which is reserved for medical students, and the Study Center of the Main Library will remain open during weekends, holidays and the closure of the Main Library – Science. Access only with UZH Card.

Special Access with UZH Card

  Daily Specific Regulations
Main Library – Medicine Careum  7am - 11pm Access to MediZone only for immatriculated students of the Faculty of Medicine.
Main Library – Science 7am - 12pm Access for members of institutes on the Irchel Campus
Application Form (PDF, 24 KB)

At semester changes on 1 August and 1 February, the UZH Card must be re-validated.