FAIR and Open Data

While Open Data requires an unrestricted opening of the data, FAIR principles pursue a more pragmatic approach to data and allow leveled access criteria that meet scientific requirements. Data can be FAIR, although they are not 'Open'.

FAIR Data

The FAIR principles aim at a scientific distortion of the data so that they can be addressed, quoted and verified as persistently as possible in the fast-moving Internet. The SNSF focuses its research funding on FAIR data. The catchy abbreviation FAIR stands for Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Re-usable.

Findable

To make data findable, it must have a unique identifier, a PID (persistent identifier). In addition, the metadata should be machine-readable and also easily understood by humans.

Accessible

Data should be freely accessible, i.e. online and without paywall. In practice, however, any data that is subject to personal rights, copyrights or special contracts is excluded. In any case, it should be defined which data can be shared in which way and which must be protected.

Interoperable

(Meta)Data should be compatible with different computer systems. Open formats should be used and if possible no protected formats. In addition, the metadata should reflect the already established standards of the respective research discipline.

Re-usable

The metadata should clearly indicate the conditions under which the data may be used.

Open Data

Making data available without restriction (public domain) is the universal ideal of Open Data. They must be machine-readable and have open file formats. Applied licenses may not exclude individual groups from using the data. Nevertheless, Open Data is subject to data protection and must therefore not contain any sensitive data. The practical implementation of Open Data is often difficult.

FAIR und Open Data

Während Open Data eine uneingeschränkte Öffnung der Daten verlangt, verfolgen die FAIR-Prinzipien einen pragmatischeren Umgang mit Daten und erlauben nivellierte Zugangskriterien, die wissenschaftlichen Anforderungen entsprechen. Daten können FAIR sein, obschon sie nicht 'Open' sind.

FAIR Data

Die FAIR-Prinzipien zielen auf eine wissenschaftliche Verzeichnung der Daten ab, so dass diese im schnelllebigen Internet möglichst persistent adressiert, zitiert und verifiziert werden können. Der SNF richtet seine Forschungsförderung auf FAIR-Data aus. Die eingängige Abkürzung FAIR steht für Findable (auffindbar), Accessible (zugänglich), Interoperable (interoperabel, kompatibel) und Re-usable (wiederverwendbar).

Findable

Um Daten auffindbar zu machen, müssen sie mit einem eindeutigem Identifikator, einem PID (persistent identifier), versehen sein. Zudem sollten die Metadaten maschinen-lesbar und auch für den Menschen gut verständlich sein.

Accessible

Daten sollten frei, d.h. online und ohne paywall, zugänglich sein. In der Praxis jedoch sind sind jegliche Daten, die Persönlichkeitsrechten, Copyrights oder speziellen Verträgen unterliegen, ausgenommen. In jedem Fall sollte definiert werden, welche Daten auf welche Art teilbar sind und welche geschützt werden müssen.

Interoperable

(Meta)Daten sollten mit unterschiedlichen Computersystemen kompatibel sein. Hierzu sollten offene und möglichst keine geschützten Formate verwendet werden. Ausserdem sollten die Metadaten die bereits etablierten Standards der jeweiligen Forschungsdisziplin widerspiegeln.

Reusable

Aus den Metadaten sollte klar hervorgehen, unter welchen Bedingungen die Daten genutzt werden dürfen.

Open Data

Daten uneingeschränkt zur Verfügung zu stellen (public domain) ist das universale Ideal von Open Data. Sie müssen maschinenlesbar sein und offene Dateiformate aufweisen. Angewandte Lizenzen dürfen keine einzelnen Gruppen von der Nutzung der Daten ausschliessen. Trotzdem: Open Data unterliegen dem Datenschutz und dürfen daher keine sensitiven Daten beinhalten. Die praktische Umsetzung von Open Data ist oft schwierig.